Hall of Fame salutes the ’78 Armour Packers

Written by admin. Posted in Uncategorized

        Armour High School’s memorable march through an undefeated season in 1978 was accentuated by cohesive offense and relentless defense. The Packers were unwavering. Armour had a stable of superior athletes who were able to apply and maintain constant pressure on an opponent from a game’s opening tipoff until its final moments.

        Coached by Burnell Glanzer, the Packers claimed the Class B championship by notching state tournament victories over Hamlin, Stanley County and Elk Point. Glanzer’s younger brother Barry was at the point of attack for Armour as it went 26-0. Barry Glanzer was first team all-state. Brian Bindert and Joe Morrow also received all-state mention.

        In recognition of their outstanding season the 1978 Packers are being recognized by the South Dakota High School Basketball Hall of Fame as its Team of Excellence for 2024. Armour will be honored during the 14th annual Hall of Fame induction banquet which will be held on the afternoon of Aug. 24 at the Ramkota Hotel in northwest Sioux Falls.

        The Packers were, from left in the submitted photo shown above, front row, Gregg DeSpiegler, Brad Freidel, Dan Freidel, Barry Glanzer, Morrow, Tim Scholten and Coach Glanzer. Back row, Assistant Coach Rick Clark, Jeff Tiefenthaler, Jeff Johnson, Marvin Powell, Dennis Tiefenthaler, Bindert and Tom McFarland. The unbeaten season achieved in 1978 started Armour on its way toward an all-time state boys record winning streak that eventually reached 64 games.

Leave a comment