Change was looming after the season of 1954

Written by admin. Posted in Uncategorized

        Hayti and Deadwood won state titles in 1954. At the conclusion of those tournaments played 70 years ago, after the Redbirds and Bears had clinched their championships and hoisted their trophies, the all-tourney teams were announced. Just as had been done for many years. The past, in a basketball sense, was stepping aside in South Dakota.

        The future, in the form of the first official all-state teams, arrived the following season. It was then when the South Dakota Sportswriters Association began a tradition that continues still today. No longer were the all-tourney teams the lone opportunity for postseason recognition. The all-state teams opened the door wide and welcomed in all outstanding players, whether or not their schools had been fortunate enough to qualify for the state tournament.

        Hayti finished 32-2 and placed Garney Henley and Harley Petersen on that Class B all-tourney team of 1954. They were joined by Dan Goodman and Tom Veren of runner-up Provo, Marv Rasmussen of Claremont, Kay Besanson of Delmont, George Hurd of Highmore, Maury Haugland of Murdo, Mike Poppens of Lennox and Darwin Sulzle of Selby.

        Deadwood had a record of 23-4. The Bears were represented on the Class A all-tourney team by the trio of Bill Jones, Ed Morris and Reece Palmer. Also honored were Arlo Mogck and Jim Adkins of second place Parkston, Bucky Salway of Custer, Bill Arteman and Bob Pierce of Huron, Maurice Poppen of Madison and Hal Erickson of Sioux Falls.

Leave a comment