Plan to join us for Hall of Fame Weekend

Written by admin. Posted in Uncategorized

     For a decade the South Dakota High School Basketball Hall of Fame has strived to research, document and illuminate the splendid careers of the very finest players ever to display their talents on the basketball courts across our state.

     Our milestone 10th annual induction banquet will be held at 1 p.m. on Saturday, March 23, at the Ramkota Hotel which is located in northwest Sioux Falls. Fifteen all-time greats will be inducted into the Hall of Fame, bringing total membership to 158 of the most recognizable names in South Dakota basketball history.

     Tickets remain available and cost $35. Children 10-and-under are $10. Tickets include the induction ceremony, a catered meal and the souvenir booklet shown at right. Orders can be made through the PayPal option on the lower right-hand portion of this website or by sending a check to SDBBHOF, 2210 W. Pentagon Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57107. Tickets will be available at the door for $40 and $15.

     Included in the Class of 2019 are Jodi (Pipes) Altenburg, Scott Beckstrand, Mike Begeman, David Fischer, Shannon (Schlagel) Huber, Megan Mahoney, Alan Nissen, Henry Park Jr., Doug Peterson, Cregg Skarin and Lindsay Thomas. Those to be inducted posthumously are LeRoy “Lefty” Engebritson, Rolland Furois, Freddie Knife and Russell “Sox” Walseth. To be honored at the banquet as this year’s Team of Excellence is Watertown of 1959.

     A reception for inductees will be held from 4-6 p.m. on Friday, March 22, at the Ramkota. Please use the east parking lot and entrance. The reception is free and dress is casual. Refreshments will be available. On hand during the reception will be members of the Class of 2019 as well as many Hall of Fame members who were inducted during previous years.

     Hall of Fame Weekend is a time to celebrate South Dakota’s proud basketball heritage. We hope to see you then.

Leave a comment