We Commend Champions USD, Augustana

Written by admin. Posted in Uncategorized

        With the closing of the 2015-16 school year, the South Dakota High School Basketball Hall of Fame feels it appropriate to offer an additional salute to the extraordinary seasons recently completed by the WNIT champion University of South Dakota women’s team and the NCAA Division II champion Augustana University men’s team.

       Amy Williams coached USD (32-6) to the Summit League title with a 15-1 record. The Coyotes then became the league’s first-ever champion of a national postseason tournament. Led by 5-foot-10 senior guard Nicole Seekamp, the Player of the Year in the Summit League, the Coyotes defeated such teams as Creighton, Minnesota and Oregon to reach the WNIT finals. There they beat Florida Gulf Coast 71-65 before a DakotaDome crowd of 7,415.

        Augustana (34-2) was champion of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference at 21-1. Tom Billeter was named NABC Coach of the Year and 6-9 senior forward Dan Jansen was National Player of the Year. The Vikings topped Northwest Missouri State 80-78 to win the Central Regional with senior Casey Schilling named Most Outstanding Player. Then they downed Lincoln Memorial (Tenn.) 90-81 to win the Elite Eight with senior Alex Richter chosen as MOP.

Trackback from your site.

Leave a comment